Facebook Pixel

DALLAS – Conference USA will be sending two teams to the 2019 NCAA Baseball Championship, as announced by the Division I baseball committee on Monday.  Regular season champion Florida Atlantic will participate in the Athens Regional as the No. 2 seed, while Southern Miss will play in the Baton Rouge Regional and will be the No. 3 seed.


For the fourth time in five years – and fifth in seven – Florida Atlantic (40-19) is bound for the NCAA Tournament.  This weekend the Owls head to Athens, Georgia, for a regional hosted by the national No. 4 seed University of Georgia, and will take on Florida State on Friday. It is only the third out of 14 regional bids in program history that has seen the team leave the state of Florida, and marks the first time since 2013.

The No. 2-seeded Owls join the hosts Georgia, No. 3 FSU and No. 4 Mercer in Athens, Georgia.  The first round games will take place this Friday, May 31, with FAU taking on the Seminoles at Noon ET at Foley Field, and the Bulldogs and the Bears in the nightcap at 7 p.m. ET.

The John McCormack-led Owls squad won the Conference USA regular season championship and made it to the final game in the league’s postseason tournament.

Fresh off its third C-USA Championship title in the last four years, Southern Miss (38-19) will be making its fourth consecutive NCAA appearance and 14th overall postseason trip.  The Golden Eagles will be playing a regional in Baton Rouge, Louisiana for the first time since 2008, although C-USA has placed a team in the Baton Rouge Regional three of the last four years (Rice in 2016 and 2017).

Scott Berry’s Southern Miss club will open the regional against perennial Pac-12 power Arizona State (37-17) on Friday at 1 pm CT on ESPN 3.  Host and No. 13 national seed LSU takes on Stony Brook later that day at 7 p.m.

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 31, to Monday, June 3 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on Monday, June 3 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

The 73rd Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 15, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Eleven of the last 19 years a C-USA team has advanced to a Super Regional and six times since 2005 a team has reached the College World Series. 

Conference USA in the 2019 NCAA Championship

Friday, May 31

No. 2 Florida Atlantic (40-19) vs. No. 2 Florida State (36-21) (ESPN3)                 11:00a
No. 1 Georgia (44-15) vs. No. 4 Mercer (35-27) (SEC Network)                               6:00p

Friday, May 31

No. 3 Southern Miss (38-19) vs. No. 2 Arizona State (37-17) (ESPN3)                 12:00p
No. 1 LSU (37-24) at No. 4 Stony Brook (31-21) (ESPNU)                                       6:00p